Elinchrom EL Skyport ECO does not fire flash anymore

I have an Elinchrom D-Lite 2 lighting set in my home studio, and I fire the soft boxes via an Elinchrom EL Skyport ECO transmitter mounted in the camera’s hot shoe.

DSC_5609_ELINCHROM_SKYPORT

When I wanted to start a photo session yesterday, the flashes refused to fire. When I clicked the Test button, the LED flashed green, so it seems the batteries were OK. But I didn’t know what else to do (channel settings were good), so I changed the battery. Still no flash.

I searched the internet, and after a while, I found the following line in some product description of the Elinchrom Skyport: Status LED flashes once or twice depending on if Normal-or Speed Sync mode is selected. With my device, it flashed twice.

With this info and new search terms, I finally found this post at bayerpattern.com:

http://www.bayerpattern.com/elinchrom-skyport-trigger-problem/

Basically, the Skyport was in its second operation mode (‘speed mode’), and in this mode it does not work with my studio lights. So the solution is to change the mode back to normal. You can do this by holding the Test button until the LED flashes once it seems.

(In the baypattern article it says hold it for 10 seconds, but that did not work in my case.)

About dfspspirit

PhD student in bioinformatics, interested in photography, level design, digital image manipulation, architecture and, of course, bioinformatics.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Elinchrom EL Skyport ECO does not fire flash anymore

  1. Cron says:

    You are genius man! you saved me, manyt thanks!

  2. Same thing just happened to me. Thank you very much for your post. You saved my photoshoot!

  3. Dave says:

    Thanks. Great info fixed my problem.

Leave a Reply

